The IIRC Council

Changes to the Council in 2017:

The Two Deputy Chairs of the Council were appointed – Peter Bakker and John Stanhope.

The Institute of Chartered Accountants of India joined and Caixa de Previdência dos Funcionários do Banco do Brasil left the Council.

The profiles of Council members may accessed at [Link]

Communities represented by Council members

Council members as at 31 December 2017


Wellington Rocha
President and CEO

Saïd Business School at the University of Oxford
Robert Eccles, Professor
Visiting Professor of Management Practice

Accountancy profession

American Institute of CPAs
Timothy Christen

Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (ACCA)
Alan Hatfield
Executive Director, Strategy and Development

BDO International
Keith Farlinger
Chief Executive Officer

Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand

Chartered Institute of Management Accountants (CIMA)
Charles Tilley
Executive Chairman, CGMA Research Foundation

CPA Australia
Adam Awty
Interim CEO

CPA Canada
Joy Thomas
President and CEO

David Cruickshank
Global Chairman

Ernst & Young
Mark Weinberger
Chairman and CEO

French Interest
Jean-Charles de Lasteyrie
Vice President, Federation of European Accountants

Global Accounting Alliance (GAA)
Stephen Harrison
Chief Executive Officer

Grant Thornton International
Edward Nusbaum
Global Chief Executive Officer

Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales (ICAEW)
Michael Izza
Chief Executive

Institute of Internal Auditors (IIA)
Richard Chambers
President and CEO

Institute of Management Accountants (IMA)
Jeffrey Thomson
President and CEO

International Federation of Accountants (IFAC)
Rachel Grimes

Japanese Institute of Certified Public Accountants (JICPA)
Aiko Sekine, CPA
Chairman and President

Bill O’Mara
Global Head of Audit

PwC International
Robert E. Moritz
Global Chairman

South African Institute of Chartered Accountants (SAICA)
Terence Nombembe
Chief Executive Officer

The Institute of Chartered Accountants of India
Naveen Gupta
Vice President

Business and otherreporter entities

Asian Centre for Corporate Governance & Sustainability
Prof. Mahendra K. Chouhan
Vice Chairman of Global Advisory Board

Brazilian Institute of Corporate Governance
Eliane Lustosa
Board member

CII-ITC Centre of Excellence for Sustainable Development
Yogesh Deveshwar
Chairman of the Advisory Council

Geert Peeters
Group Director & Chief Financial Officer

DBS Group
Sok Hui Chng
Chief Financial Officer

Energie Baden-Württemberg AG (EnBW)
Thomas Kusterer
Chief Financial Officer

Foundation for the Global Compact
Mark Moody-Stuart

Global Alliance for Public Relations and Communication Management
Dan Tisch
Director and Immediate Past Chair

Global Network of Director Institutes
Angela Cherrington

International Integrated Reporting Council
Peter Bakker
Deputy Chair of the Council

International Integrated Reporting Council
John Stanhope
Deputy Chair of the Council

Korea Productivity Center
Chun-seon Lee
Managing Director

Nestlé SA
David Frick
Senior Vice President, Corporate Governance, Compliance and Corporate Services

Novo Nordisk
Susanne Stormer
Vice President of Corporate Sustainability

Prudential Financial
Margaret M. Foran
Chief Governance Officer, Vice President and Corporate Secretary

Tata Sons
Koushik Chatterjee
Group CFO (Tata Steel)

World Business Council for Sustainable Development (WBCSD)
Rodney Irwin
Managing Director of Redefining Value and Education

World Economic Forum (WEF)/Climate Disclosure Standards Board (CDSB)
Richard Samans
Managing Director/Chairman

Civil society

Business for Social Responsibility
Dunstan Allison-Hope
Managing Director

Mindy Lubber

Prof. Dr. Obiora Ike
Executive Director

The Prince’s Accounting for Sustainability Project (A4S)
Jessica Fries
Executive Chairman

Transparency International
Cobus de Swardt
Managing Director

WWF, South Africa
Morné du Plessis
Chief Executive Officer

Framework developers, standard setters

Paul Simpson
Chief Executive Officer

Global Reporting Initiative (GRI)
Timothy J. Mohin
Chief Executive

International Accounting Standards Board (IASB)
Hans Hoogervorst

Sustainability Accounting Standards Board
Steven Gunders
Member of the Board of Directors

World Intellectual Capital Initiative (WICI)
Stefano Zambon

Policymakers, regulators, exchanges

International Integrated Reporting Council
Mervyn King

International Organization of Securities Commissions (IOSCO)
Paul Andrews
Secretary General

Japan Exchange Group
Takafumi Sato

Ministry of Finance, People’s Republic of China
Dr. Lin Zhu
Director, Accounting Regulatory Department

The World Bank
Bernard Lauwers
World Bank Group Controller

United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD)
James Zhan
Director of Investment and Enterprise

Providers of financial capital

APG Asset Management
Claudia Kruse
Managing Director, Head of Governance & Sustainability

Brazilian National Bank for Economic and Social Development (BNDES)
Vania Borgerth
Advisor to CEO

Michelle Edkins
Managing Director & Global Head of Corporate Governance

CFA Institute
Sandra Peters
Head, Financial Reporting Policy Group

European Federation of Financial Analysts Societies
Frank Klein
Member of the Executive Management Committee

Angeli van Buren
Chair of the Audit & Reporting Committee

Hermes Investment Management
Saker Nusseibeh
Chief Executive Officer

International Corporate Governance Network (ICGN)
Anne Molyneux
Member of the Governing Board

Principles for Responsible Investment (PRI)
Fiona Reynolds
Managing Director

Rockefeller & Co.
Joyce Haboucha
Managing Director, Senior Portfolio Manager

RPMI Railpen
Chris Hitchen
Chief Executive

UN Environment Programme Finance Initiative (UNEP FI)
David Pitt-Watson
Immediate Past Co-Chair Steering Committee